What are the 7 stages of fibromyalgia? - ANF Academy
WhatsApp: +34 647 79 79 54 hello@anfacademy.com

Approximately 10 million people in the United States are believed to be affected by fibromyalgia, which is a chronic pain disorder. It is characterized by fatigue, widespread musculoskeletal pain, and tenderness in localized areas. The condition can be challenging to diagnose and treat and often progresses through several stages. This review explores the seven stages of fibromyalgia and what they entail.

Stage One: Initial Symptoms

The onset of initial symptoms characterizes the first stage of fibromyalgia. These symptoms can include widespread pain, fatigue, and sleep disturbances. Patients may also experience headaches, irritable bowel syndrome (IBS), and cognitive difficulties.

Stage Two: Developing Symptoms

During the second stage of fibromyalgia, symptoms begin to intensify. Patients may experience increased pain, fatigue, and additional symptoms such as joint stiffness and cognitive dysfunction. Sleep disturbances may also become more severe.

Stage Three: Chronic Widespread Pain

The third stage of fibromyalgia is marked by chronic widespread pain. Patients may experience pain in all four quadrants of the body and other localized areas. Fatigue, sleep disturbances, and cognitive difficulties may accompany this pain.

Stage Four: Limited Functionality

As fibromyalgia progresses to stage four, patients may experience limited functionality. They may have difficulty performing everyday tasks, such as cleaning, cooking, and caring for themselves. Fatigue and pain can be debilitating, making working or participating in social activities strenuous.

Stage Five: Mitigating Factors

During stage five, patients may identify mitigating factors that exacerbate their symptoms. These may include stress, certain foods, or environmental factors. Identifying and avoiding these triggers can help patients manage their symptoms and improve their quality of life.

Stage Six: Severe Symptoms

In the sixth stage of fibromyalgia, symptoms become severe and may be accompanied by depression and anxiety. Patients may require more aggressive treatment to manage their pain and other symptoms.

Stage Seven: Disability

The final stage of fibromyalgia is marked by disability. Patients may be unable to work or perform everyday tasks, and their quality of life may be severely impacted. At this stage, a comprehensive treatment plan that includes medication, physical therapy, and psychological support may be necessary.

ANF Therapy®️ is a non-invasive and non-pharmacological option that can help alleviate symptoms of fibromyalgia. ANF Therapy®️ uses unique wearable ANF Devices that stimulate the body’s natural healing process, addressing the root cause of pain and inflammation. This therapy has shown promising results in reducing pain, improving sleep, and enhancing overall well-being for those suffering from fibromyalgia. With a multi-disciplinary approach, including ANF Therapy®️, individuals with fibromyalgia have a greater chance of finding relief and improving their quality of life.

In conclusion, fibromyalgia is a complex chronic pain disorder that progresses through several stages. Early diagnosis and treatment can help patients manage their symptoms and improve their quality of life.

If you are a healthcare professional who suffers from fibromyalgia or you want to help your patient(s), ANF Academy offers certified courses for healthcare professionals to learn about this therapy and incorporate it into their practice.